Effective Modeling

Explain how you will apply Social Cognitive theory – and specifically modeling – in your instruction by completing the following tasks. Be sure to use the vocabulary in your response.

1. Identify a skill or disposition that you will (or someone else) will model for students in your class.

I will model for my students how to annotate texts as they read. This skill can help them with reading comprehension, and has good knowledge transfer to other contexts.

2. Identify whether you will use a live or symbolic model, and who that model will be.

I will use both a live model and symbolic models. I will be the live model for students to demonstrate how, when, and what to annotate. I can also provide examples of symbolic models by showing images of how authors have annotated text, and, because I’ve just watched Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, by using the example of how Hermione annotated a textbook page with the word “pipes” to help Harry and Ron solve the mystery of the Chamber of Secrets.

3. Explain why you chose that model, citing one of the characteristics of effective models from the lesson.

I chose to act myself as a live model because I believe I’m pretty competent at annotating and I will be able to know what I’m doing when I model. I chose to use authors as a symbolic model because they have prestige, and because an author like Mark Twain provides a gender-appropriate model for the male students in my class. I chose to use Hermione as a symbolic model because she is more similar to my students than I am in terms of age and character. Plus a good Harry Potter reference doesn’t go amiss 🙂

4. Explain how you will focus students’ attention on the modeling.

I can focus students’ attention on my live modeling by making sure the text I’m using to model is interesting enough to prompt a basic arousal of attention. I can also minimize distractions–if the text is too interesting, or has a lot of jokes, that may distract from my model of annotation.

5. Describe the strategies you will use to help the students retain what is modeled.

To help students retain annotation, I can have them brainstorm different types of symbols they could use while annotating to help them rehearse annotation. I can form a word association between “annotate” and “notate” and “notes” to help with encoding. I can also work with students to think of times and places when annotating would be helpful. As I model, I will show a visual representation of my annotations, providing information that students can see as they hear me talking.

6. List opportunities you will provide for students to produce the modeled behavior.

For students to produce annotations, I can provide different texts for students to read and annotate. I can have students share their annotations with each other so students can also see how their peers have annotated, which may provide additional live models for students. I can also have students do a retelling or summary with a partner based on their annotations.

7. Explain how you will motivate and/or reinforce students to learn from the model (may draw from other motivation theories).

To help motivate students, I can create relevance by explicitly showing students how annotating can help them in other contexts and in the future. For example, many times, annotating saves time when studying and increases comprehension, so I can help motivate students to annotate by pointing out the benefits to them. I can also reinforce the behavior by giving points for annotations on future reading assignments.

 

Leave a Reply

